Had a whale of a time!

50% of my September craft goals are complete!

20140914-IMG_1174

Today I finished this jumper for my friend’s little boy. She had him last Tuesday and spent most of her pregnancy trying to find baby clothes with whales on so I couldn’t resist adding a motif to the jumper I knitted for him.

I adapted a pattern from the Debbie Bliss Simply Baby pattern book I found in a charity shop a few years ago. I added contrast buttons on the shoulders:

20140914-IMG_1180

I found a small piece of blue spotty fabric in my off cuts stash and knew it would be perfect for a whale for this project. I ironed some Bondaweb to the back and drew a simple whale motif. I cut this out and gently ironed to the jumper and sewed around the edge using blanket stitch. I then added an eye using a french knot and a mouth in back-stitch.

 

20140914-IMG_1181

I hope she is pleased with it!

3 thoughts on “Had a whale of a time!

Leave a Reply

