The most wonderful time of the year

I love Autumn. I love the colours, I love all the leaves on the tress falling, I love walks in the woods, I love wearing jumpers and boots, I love sitting indoors all warm and cozy when it is raining and windy outside, I love fireworks and bonfires, and most of all I love the lead up to Christmas. I seem to have convinced myself it is nearly Christmas very early this year and the preparations are in full swing. I think it started off with making Sloe gin and blackberry vodka we will use for presents and it got my brain thinking about other gifts and crafts!

20141025-IMG_123420141025-IMG_1225

I was browsing the internet for lampshade making kits but got distracted by the advent calendar making kits and just had to buy this amazing one from The Homemakery. I saw this panel on a few other sites but they did not show it as well as this one. There is also a brilliant blog post and suggestions for backing fabric and binding. I was so desperate to get started, I ordered it in my lunch break at work hoping it will come soon. Luckily, it wont come this weekend and I might get a chance to finish some other projects that keep getting forgotten about.

20141024-IMG_121120141024-IMG_1216

I have finished clue 2 of the Knit Purl Hunter KAL and am half way through clue 3. Clue 4 is a new bind off so I have done the bulk of the length now. I really wanted to keep up with the clues being published but we have had such busy weekends recently with two weddings I have not been able to keep up. It is a lovely pattern and is totally reversible and symmetrical in all directions, super clever! I can’t wait to finish and start wearing it now it is getting colder.

20140913-IMG_1169

I have also failed with my September Craft goals. I did finish the jumper but have not totally finished the cross stitch. I have done all of the sewing, I just need to frame it and do it soon otherwise it will get forgotten about forever. I started in 2010 so it will be brilliant when it is finally finished, framed and on the wall.

I also plan to start doing up a dresser this weekend, it’s going to be a busy one!

3 thoughts on “The most wonderful time of the year

Leave a Reply

